5.1. The CREG’s Board of Directors and Staff

The Board of Directors is responsible for the operational management of the CREG and undertakes everything that is necessary or useful for the fulfilment of the assignments entrusted to it by the Electricity Act and the Gas Act.

The chair and the three directors who make up the Board of Directors are appointed by royal decree after consideration by the Council of Ministers for a six-year term of office, which can be renewed once. They deliberate as a college in accordance with the usual rules on deliberating meetings.

Since 1 September 2013, the chair of the Board of Directors, a role which includes responsibility for managing the CREG, has been Mrs Marie-Pierre FAUCONNIER. The three directors are Mr Laurent JACQUET, who is in charge of price and accounts monitoring, Mr Koen LOCQUET, who heads up the administrative directorate and Mr Andreas TIREZ, who is in charge of the technical operations of the electricity and natural gas markets.

As of 31 December 2014, in addition to the Board of Directors, the CREG employed 67 members of staff.

Table 21: Directorates and staff of the CREG as of 31 December 2014

  • The Natural Gas Market
  • Foreword